Sports Council awards celebrating local champions

Published Wednesday 25 May 2022 at 14:33

The annual BwD Sporting Awards were held on Friday 21st May 21 with 13 categories and 18 winners on the night.

Organised by the BwD Sports Council to celebrate our thriving local sporting community, the event was a welcome return to the local community events calendar.

Winners included ‘Volunteer of the Year’ Zohra Sarfraz, ‘Young Achiever of the Year’ and ‘Uniting Lancashire’ Grace Moss, ‘Coach of the Year’ David Grierson and ‘Special Recognition’ awards for Linda Rusyn, Paul Guppy, and volunteer ‘Running Mayor’ Andrew Gardner.

Yaqoob Hussain MBE, Sports Council Chair said:

It was great to see everyone at this year’s Sports Awards. Due to the pandemic there hasn’t been a lot of sporting activity locally or across the world. But the Sports Council decided to take the opportunity to shine a light on local groups and individuals who have excelled in their chosen sport, and give reward and recognition of their successes and effort.

“This year we also took into consideration those in the sporting community who have special needs, rewarding their efforts and celebrating those who support them.”

As well as attending the event as referee and judge, Hussain also received an award for his international Sports Council work after representing the borough, the county and the country all over Europe including Denmark, Sweden, Norway and Ireland.

The Mayor of Blackburn with Darwen Councillor Suleman Khonat attended the event with his daughter, Mayoress Hajra Sath, who presented awards on the night. Khonat said:

I was delighted to attend this community event celebrating the sporting achievements of our borough. Sport is a great way for communities to get together. Congratulations to all the winners.

Also in attendance, Blackburn with Darwen Executive Member for Wellbeing Councillor Damian Talbot said:

“Great to see this event celebrating individuals and groups in our borough. Sport is a great way to maintain a healthy weight, benefits our mental and physical health, and can be an opportunity for people to meet like-minded people. Well done to everyone involved.”

Also at the event to present awards were councillors Paul Marrow, Brian Taylor, June Steele BEM, and Zamih Khan.

The full list of winners:

David Grierson – Coach of the Year

LSSA Fishmoor – Club of the Year

Stuart Parker & Peter Schulpher – Contribution to Active Communities (Individuals)

Z Academy – Contribution to Active Communities (Group)

Linda Crook – Lifetime Achievement

Avondale Primary – Primary School of the Year

Grace Moss – Young Achiever of the Year

Grace Moss – Uniting Lancashire Award

Zohra Sarfraz – Volunteer of the Year

Sporting NRG – Active Workplace of the Year

Linda Rusyn & Susan Wolstenhome – The Lynn Hindle Award

The Billy Project – Health and Wellbeing Award

Linda Rusyn – Special Recognition

Paul Guppy – Special Recognition

Andrew Gardner – Special Recognition

Yaqoob Hussain MBE – Special Recognition

Sporting Awards winners montage

Sporting Awards winners presentations

This site uses cookies. Find out more about this site’s cookies.